Marriage License

Contact Info

Please select a link below to refer to the desired paragraph pertaining to marriage license requirements.

Age Requirements

Subject to the restrictions below, the age for marriage in Georgia without parental consent is eighteen for both parties (19-3-36). If the bride or groom is sixteen or seventeen, they may marry if the consent of the parent(s) or guardian(s) of the underage applicant is given. If one parent has custody of the minor, they are required to bring in proof of custody (divorce decree showing the child’s name). Guardians are also required to show proof of custody (guardianship papers). The parent(s) or guardian(s) must appear in person to give consent. There is no longer a waiting period (19-3-37). According to Georgia law, blood tests are no longer required.
Top of Page

Residence

Both the bride and groom must apply in person in their county of residence in Georgia, as long as one is a Georgia residence. If neither one is a resident of Georgia, then the couple must apply in the county where the ceremony will be performed (19-3-30 (2)).
Top of Page

Proof of Age

Georgia law requires proof of age be presented at the time of making application. By law, acceptable proof of age is any of the following:

  • Birth certificate.
  • Driver’s license.
  • Baptismal certificate.
  • Certificate of birth registration.
  • Selective service card.
  • Court record.
  • Passport.
  • Iimmigration papers
  • Alien papers.
  • Citizenship papers.
  • Armed forces discharge papers
  • Armed forces identification card
  • Hospital admission card -- containing the full name and date of birth (19-3-36).

Top of Page
Proof of Divorce

If either applicant has received a divorce, he, she or both must show a copy of the final judgment and decree of most recent divorce. It must show the judge’s signature and date divorce was granted (19-3-2 (3)).
Top of Page

Name After Marriage

Georgia law requires each applicant to designate the legal surname he or she will use after marriage. The applicant may choose:

  1. His or her present surname.
  2. The surname of a previous marriage.
  3. Spouse’s surname.
  4. A surname as provided in line item 1 or 2 of this paragraph in conjunction with the surname of the other spouse (19-3-33.1 (b)).

Top of Page
Restrictions

The applicants must be of sound mind and cannot have any undissolved marriages (19-3-2). Any person who marries a person to whom he or she is related, either by blood or by marriage, as set forth in this paragraph, shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than one nor more than three years: (19-3-3)

  1. Father and daughter or step-daughter.
  2. Mother and son or step-son.
  3. Brother and sister of the whole blood or the half blood.
  4. Grandparent and grandchild.
  5. Aunt and nephew.
  6. Uncle and niece.

Marriages between persons of the same sex are prohibited (19-3-3.1).
Top of Page

Costs for Application and Certified Copies

The cost of each application and license for marriage is $76.00 which includes a certified copy. Only cash is accepted. However, if the couple presents to the Court at the time of making the application a certificate of completion of a premarital education program, pursuant to code section 19-3-30.1, the $40.00 application fee shall be waived, and the total for all services shall  be $36.00 instead of $76.00. In order to qualify for the reduced fee, the premarital education program:

  1. Must have been completed within twelve months prior to the date of the application
  2. Must have been taken by the couple together.
  3. Must have included not less than six hours of "instruction involving marital issues, which may include but not be limited to conflict management, communication skills, financial responsibilities, child and parenting responsibilities, and extended family roles."
  4. Must have been provided any of the following:
    • A professional counselor, social worker, or marriage and family therapist licensed in Georgia.
    • A psychiatrist licensed in Georgia.
    • A psychologist licensed in Georgia.
    • An active member of the clergy when in the course of his or her service as clergy or his or her designee, provided the designee is trained and skilled in premarital education.

The Court has a form for the certificate if the provider does not have a form.There is an additional fee of $1.00 for the notification to parent(s) when an application is accepted from a pregnant female or a couple who are the parents of a living child. If the parents of both applicants must be notified, the $1.00 fee applies to each set of parents.
Top of Page

Hours

Because of the length of time involved in completing the application, no application shall be commenced after 4:30 pm.
Top of Page